Welcome to the Department of Physics and Astronomy at Union!

At Union, physics and astronomy classes are small and personal, instruction is characterized by individual attention, labs are taught by the regular faculty rather than by graduate students, and all students are encouraged to participate in undergraduate research with faculty.

Please visit the links at the top of the page for more information about our department and download our brochure. Please feel free to contact us with questions:

Department of Physics & Astronomy
Science & Engineering Center
Union College
Schenectady, NY 12308
Phone: (518) 388-6254
Fax: (518) 388-6947
Department Chair: Rebecca Koopmann
Department Administrative Assistant: Lynnette Stec

Brent Shapiro-Albert ’16 wins Chambliss Astronomy Award

Posted by on Feb 2, 2016 in Faculty, Research, Students | Comments Off on Brent Shapiro-Albert ’16 wins Chambliss Astronomy Award

Congratulations to Brent Shapiro-Albert ’16, who has won the 2016 Chambliss Astronomy Award of the American Astronomical Society, the professional society for U. S. astronomers. Brent was awarded the prize for the research he presented at the January 2016 meeting of the American Astronomical Society. Prizes are awarded by judges from the professional astronomy community, based on posters presented by the undergraduates at the meeting. Brent is one of only 8 undergraduates from across the country who received this prestigious award. He...

read more

Physics 100 First-Year Seminar Dinner at Wold House

Posted by on Oct 19, 2015 in Faculty, News, Students | Comments Off on Physics 100 First-Year Seminar Dinner at Wold House

Faculty and students celebrated the Physics 100 First-Year Seminar with a Mexican dinner last week. Check out the photos from the event! 2015_physics_100_dinner01 2015_physics_100_dinner02 2015_physics_100_dinner03 2015_physics_100_dinner04 2015_physics_100_dinner05 2015_physics_100_dinner06 2015_physics_100_dinner07 2015_physics_100_dinner08 2015_physics_100_dinner09 2015_physics_100_dinner10 2015_physics_100_dinner11 2015_physics_100_dinner12 2015_physics_100_dinner13                    ...

read more

Congratulations Class of 2015

Posted by on Jun 15, 2015 in Faculty, News, Students | Comments Off on Congratulations Class of 2015

Congratulations to our 6 graduating seniors: Salina Ali, Caleb Novins, Alexander Clain, Stephen DiIorio, William Harney, Xuanhan Zhao

read more