In Woodward’s American Nations, he establishes eleven different nations that compose the United States, each with unique culture and customs. As the book develops, Woodward establishes another division: the division between the Dixie bloc (composed of the Deep South, Tidewater, and Appalachia) and the Northern alliance (lead by Yankeedom). These two factions represent their own nation’s identity, […]