Faculty and Staff

Ann M. Anderson, Ph.D.
Agnes S. Macdonald Professor
518-388-6537
andersoa@union.edu
  • Teaches: Heat transfer, fluid mechanics, thermodynamics, mechanics, engineering economics and thermal fluids design
  • Research: Heat transfer and fluid mechanics, experimental methods and design of experiments, liquid crystal thermography and particle image velocimetry, aerogel materials (Lab Web Page).
Brad Bruno, Ph.D.
Professor
518-388-6322
brunob@union.edu

  • Teaches: Thermodynamics, heat transfer and fluid mechanics
  • Research: Internal combustion engines, spray atomization and droplet breakup, laser diagnostic methods for combustion and flow field measurements.
Ronald B. Bucinell, Ph.D., P.E.
Associate Professor
518-388-6023
bucinelr@union.edu
  • Teaches: Engineering mechanics and design
  • Research: Mechanics of composite materials, experimental mechanics, fracture mechanics and statistical experimental design
Rebecca Cortez, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
518-388-8784
cortezr@union.edu
  • Teaches: Materials science and strength of materials
  • Research: Micro- and nano-scale materials characterization, micro-electromechanical systems (MEMS), fatigue and fracture
David Hodgson, Ph.D.
Department Chair
Thomas J. Watson Sr. and Emma Watson Day Associate Professor
518-388-8767
hodgsond@union.edu
  • TAB FALL 2016 – Ireland
  • Teaches: Controls, mechanics, thermodynamics, and mechatronics
  • Research:  Applied Embedded Control, Control of thermofluid systems, Building Energy Modeling
William D. Keat, Ph.D.
Professor
518-388-6321
keatw@union.edu
  • Teaches: Design and solid mechanics
  • Research: Development of new computational methodologies for the study of 3D fracture processes including such applications as fracture growth near bimaterial interfaces, fatigue crack growth in structural components and nondestructive detection of cracks based on inversion of surface deformations
Jaron Kuppers, Ph.D.
Visiting Assistant Professor
518-388-7199
kuppersj@union.edu
  • Teaches: 
  • Research: 
Ashok Ramasubramanian, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
518-388-8366
ramasuba@union.edu
  • Teaches: Controls, solid mechanics and mechatronics
  • Research: Embryonic heart and gut development mechanics
Andrew J. Rapoff, Ph.D.
Professor
518-388-8384
rapoffa@union.edu

  • Teaches: Solid mechanics, dynamics, design and bioengineering
  • Research: Biomechanics and physical anthropology
Nourouddin Sharifi, Ph.D.
Visiting Assistant Professor
518-388-6341
sharifin@union.edu
  • Teaches: Engineering Reliability, Heat Transfer Analysis and Design, Thermodynamics (1 and 2)
  • Research: Multiphase Transport Phenomena, Thermal Energy Storage, Heat Pipes, Heat Transfer Enhancement
Abraham Tchako, Ph.D.
Lecturer
518-388-6144
tchakoa@union.edu
  • Teaches: Engineering Graphics, CAD, Solid Mechanics, Manufacturing, Bioengineering, Introductory Engineering.
  • Research: Bioengineering, FEM, CAD/CAM.
Hani Tiznobaik, Ph.D.
Visiting Assistant Professor
518-388-6881

tiznobah@union.edu

  • Teaches: Thermodynamics, Advanced Mechanics, Dynamics
  • Research: Micro/Nanoscale Heat Transfer, Material Characterization (SEM, TEM, XRD), Nanofluids, Molecular Dynamic (MD) Simulation, Heat Transfer Fluid (HTF), Thermal Energy Storage (TES), Thermophysical and Rheological Properties.
Jeremey Vanderover, Ph.D.
Visiting Assistant Professor
518-388-6887
vanderoj@union.edu
  • Teaches: Thermodynamics, Fluid Mechanics, Heat Transfer
  • Research: Energy Systems – Combustion, Renewable Energy, Heat Transfer, Etc.; Fluid Mechanics – CFD and Experimental; Optical Diagnostics and Instrumentation
Richard D. Wilk, Ph.D.
Department Chair (Fall 2016), Professor
518-388-6268
wilkr@union.edu

 

Staff

  • Teaches: Thermodynamics, Fluid mechanics, Heat Transfer, Design of Thermal Fluid Systems, Solar Energy, Renewable Energy and Environmental Science
  • Research: Alternative and Advanced Energy Conversion Systems
Rhonda Becker
518-388-6264
beckerr@union.edu
 Departmental Administrative Assistant
Stanley J. Gorski, A.A.S.
518-388-6324
gorskis@union.edu
 Departmental Laboratory Technician and Classroom Manager
 

Emeritus Faculty

Frank F. Milillo, Ph.D. (2001)
Filadelfo Panlilio, Ph.D. (1987)
J. Richard Shanebrook, Ph.D. (2001)
 Frank E. Wicks, Ph.D., P.E. (2016)