Posted on Aug 1, 2000

With alumni from all classes invited back to campus, ReUnion 2000 made for a happily-crowded campus.

Four alumni were honored at the Alumni Convocation: Stanley R. Becker '40, Wayne M. Davis '49, Lewis T. Buckman '60, and Taryn Howard '79.

The citation accompanying the medal to Becker noted, “Your dedication and generosity to Union has made a difference for scores of students — from the thousands who visit the Admissions Office that you made possible to the handful you support each year with your scholarship.”

Davis, a longtime member of the Alumni Council, was praised for the time and energy he has given to the College in many areas, including class president, ReUnion chairman, head agent, club officer, phonathon worker, leadership agent, career resource alumni, and admissions interviewer.

Buckman, who has attended nearly every ReUnion and Alumni Council event since his graduation, was praised for his “constant commitment” to the College. His activities have ranged from ReUnion volunteer to class treasurer to class representative on the Alumni Council.

Howard is a former president of the Alumni Council, where she represented “a vast and diverse group of alumni who have high goals for their alma mater.” She was also cited for her work in strengthening the New York City alumni chapter.

The Faculty Meritorious Service Award was presented to J. Douglass Klein, professor of economics and associate dean for information technology. In his new role, Klein is working to enhance teaching and learning through technology. His citation noted that he was being recognized for “all that you do to further the traditional mission of the College, in sometimes untraditional ways.”

As for the traditional ReUnion parade, the Anable Cup (to the class with the greatest number in the parade), the McClellan Cup (for highest class percentage), and the Van Voast/Class of 1941 Cup (best costume) all went to the Class of 1950.