Posted on May 25, 2006

Class of '76 in parade at ReUnion 2006

The Union spirit was burning bright as close to 2,000 alumni from the classes of 1934 to 2005 came to campus for ReUnion 2006. Highlights included the 50th ReUnion medallion ceremony on Friday, alumni parade and convocation on Saturday morning, and the usual amazing ReUnion fireworks (courtesy of Steve Ente '75) on Saturday night.

Three alumni – Sigmund Giambruno '51, Albert Nahmias '66 and Trustee Mark Walsh '76 – received Alumni Council Gold Medals from the Alumni Council. Head Football Coach John Audino, who recently passed the 100-win mark, received the Meritorious Service Award. Robert Danziger '79, an outstanding volunteer, was elected alumni trustee. Also, at the Alumni Convocation, the College presented the Nott Medal for a distinguished professional career to Major General Robert Dickman '66. Dickman, who retired from the Air Force after heading important commands with the U.S. space program, has always credited Union's broad-based education. Alumni admissions volunteer awards went to Timothy McCabe '73 and Judy Keseberg '76. The Robert Laudise '52 Chemistry Award, for achievement in the field and support of Union's chemistry department, went to Peter P. Kissinger '66.

The Class of 1976 took the Anable Cup (for the greatest number in the Alumni Parade). The Class of 1951 earned the McClellan Cup (for the highest turnout at ReUnion). The Class of 1956 won the Van Voast/Class of 1941 Cup (for best costume). And the 50th ReUnion Class of 1956 won the 1943 ReUnion Award (for overall ReUnion effort).