Posted on Mar 29, 2007

Eleven members of Campus Safety were sworn in as private college security officers in a recent ceremony at the Nott Memorial. They are: William H. Blanchard, Daniel M. Darling, Christopher M. Hayen, Richard M. McCrary, Keith G. McKenna, Patrick J. Morris, Gary S. Olsen, Michael J. Richards, William A. Sickinger, David M. Stern and Edward D. Teller. The officers completed 327 hours of additional training with instructors from the nearby Zone 5 Police Academy, giving them more authority to keep the campus community secure.

Binyavanga Wainaina, writer in residence, is among the finalists for the National Magazine Awards, the magazine industry's highest honor. Wainaina, of Kenya, recently was nominated in the fiction category, which honors the quality of a publication's literary selections. His piece, “Ships in High Transit,” was selected as part of the entry for The Virginia Quarterly Review. It had already won the literary journal's top short fiction prize for 2006. In February, a two-part interview with Wainaina aired on WAMC public radio, and the Albany Times Union ran a profile on him.

Teran R. Tadal '04, assistant dean of Admissions, was invited to join the board of Consortium for Educational Excellence through Partnerships (CEEP), the school-college partnership arm of Foundation for Excellent Schools (FES). She will help organize CEEP events and work to create stronger bonds between FES-affiliated schools and colleges.

Tarik Wareh, the John D. MacArthur Assistant Professor of Classics, will deliver a paper at the annual meeting of the Classical Association of the Middle West and South in Cincinnati, Ohio, April 14. The paper is titled, “School Politics and the Monarch's Court: Speusippus' Letter to Philip.”