Ethics Bowl

2013-2014 Ethics Bowl Team (pictured above)

Since Union first participated in Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl in 2003, Union’s Ethics Bowl team has climbed its way to being a highly successful and competitive program.  Coached by Krisanna Scheiter, Assistant Professor of Philosophy and Erika Wells, Visiting Assistant Professor of Psychology, the 2013-2014 year’s team placed second in the Northeast Regional Ethics Bowl qualifying for the National Competition. At the National Competition at the International Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl Conference in Jacksonville, Florida, Union placed in the top 8 out of 32 teams.

Modeled after the 1960s-era TV “College Bowl,” the rigorous academic tournament provides a forum for student teams to examine and debate laws and ethics governing society. Before each competition the team prepares presentations for each case.  They contemplate moral and ethical dilemmas that raise a variety of complex contemporary issues in diverse fields. For instance, one case the team recently debated involved the ethics of hiring surrogate mothers in India. Another issue they discussed concerned the ethics of patent trolling.

A previous team member and philosophy major, Remy Ravitzka, ’15 states, “Ethics Bowl is an incredible opportunity to think critically, exercise public speaking skills, and meet other interested and engaged students… Our fantastic teamwork was undeniably the key to our success.”

2013-2014 Ethics Bowl Team

Members of the 2013-2014 competing team include Raashika Goyal ’16 (biology and philosophy), Trevor Martin ’14 (philosophy and Spanish), Parth Visrodia ’16 (biology and economics), Alexandra Walters ’15 (political science), Dima Yankova ’16 (mechanical engineering),Chelsea Mickel ’15 (political science and Russian), Mihir Patel ’16 (biology and economics), and Matt Wu ’17 (biology and philosophy). The team is sponsored by the Philosophy Department.

2007 Ethics Bowl Team

The Union College Ethics Bowl Team competed in the national competition on February 22 in Cincinnati, Ohio.  The full story ran in the weekly Chronicle.

Team members included: William Fitzsimons (‘08), Meagan Keenan (‘09), Samantha Miller (’07), Nordo Nissi (’07), and Heidy Sanchez (’07). The team is sponsored by the Philosophy Department and advised by Lecturer Michael Mathias.

The team qualified for the National Championship Competition by placing 3rd in a field of 12 teams at the Northeast Region Ethics Bowl held at Williams College on November 11, 2006. Other schools participating in the regional event included: Dartmouth, Franklin Pierce, Marist, and Williams.

In 2006, the ethics bowl team from Union placed 2nd at the National Championship, losing a close final round match to the United States Military Academy

2004 Ethics Bowl Team

Students participating include: Nell Alk, Nat Brown, Noah Eber-Schmid, Justin Geist, Jeff Marshall, Heidy Sanchez, Jason Tucciarone, and Jaime Werner. The department will sponsor two teams in the Northeast Regional Ethics Bowl, which will be held on February 15th at Williams College. Other schools participating in the event include: Boston College, Dartmouth, Marist, Smith, and Williams. The department will also be sending a team to the Tenth (National) Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl, which will be held in Cincinnati, Ohio, on February 26th. Forty teams from schools around the nation will be participating in the national competition. The National Ethics Bowl is held in conjunction with the Thirteenth Annual Meeting of the Association for Practical and Professional Ethics. After competing in the Ethics Bowl, students on Union’s Ethics Bowl team will have an opportunity to attend conference sessions on a wide variety of topics in applied ethics.  The exciting outcome of the 2004 Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl is described in The Chronicle for March 5, 2004.

2003 Ethics Bowl Team

On Thursday, February 27, 2003, the Ninth Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl was held at the Hilton Charlotte, University Place Hotel in Charlotte, North Carolina. Representing Union were Eleanor Alk ’06, Aaron Edelstein ’05, Mohammed Khaleel ’03, Jeffrey Marshall ’05, and Raiyan Syed ’03. Justin Geist ’03 and Jaime Werner ’05 were team researchers. The team was coached by Professor Mike Mathias. Union’s team went all the way to the quarterfinals, being beaten only by the eventual winners of the tournament, finishing among the top eight teams of the forty that competed. Not bad for our first Ethics Bowl!

Skip to toolbar