Union College News Archives

News story archive

Navigation Menu

Reappointment review committees formed

Posted on Mar 31, 2010

Reappointment review committees have been formed for the following assistant professors: Nicole Theodosiou, Biology; Kristina Striegnitz, Computer Science; Helen Hanson, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Katherine Lynes, English; Holli Frey, Geology; Kenneth Aslakson, History; Rebecca Cortez, Mechanical Engineering; David Hodgson, Mechanical Engineering; Ashok Ramasubramanian, Mechanical Engineering; Samuel Amanuel, Physics; Bradley Hays, Political Science; and Guillermina Seri, Political Science.

Members of the campus community are invited to offer written or oral testimony to committee members. Committees (with chairs listed first) are:

Theodosiou: Barbara Danowski (danowskb@union.edu), Rob Olberg, Kathleen LoGiudice (all from the Biology Department)

Striegnitz: Chris Fernandes (fernandc@union.edu), David Hemmendinger (Computer Science), David Hannay (all from the Computer Science Department)

Hanson: Mike Rudko (rudkom@union.edu), Yu Chang, Ekram Hassib (all from the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department)

Lynes: Jordan Smith, English (smithj@union.edu), Harry Marten, Hugh Jenkins, Kara Doyle, Bern Kuhn, Peter Heinegg, Jim McCord (all of the English department)

Frey: Kurt Hollocher (hollochk@union.edu), George Shaw, John Garver, Don Rodbell (all from the Geology Department)

Aslakson: Mark Walker (walkerm@union.edu), Steve Sargent, Robert Wells (all from the History Department)

Cortez: Ron Bucinell, Mechanical Engineering (bucinelr@union.edu), William Keat (Mechanical Engineering); Mike Hagerman (Chemistry)

Hodgson: Ann Anderson, Mechanical Engineering (andersoa@union.edu), Frank Wicks (Mechanical Engineering), Tom Jewell (Engineering)

Ramasubramanian: Andy Rapoff, Mechanical Engineering (rapoffa@union.edu), Brad Bruno (Mechanical Engineering), Mike Rudko (Electrical and Computer Engineering)

Amanuel: Seyffie Maleki (malekis@union.edu), Rebecca Koopmann (Physics), Chad Orzel (all from the Physics Department)

Hays: Zoe Oxley, Political Science (oxleyz@union.edu), Cliff Brown (Political Science), Leo Zaibert (Philosophy)

Seri: Robert Hislope (hisloper@union.edu), Michele Angrist, Lori Marso (all from the Political Science Department)

Read More


Posted on Mar 31, 2010

Thursday, April 1, 5 p.m. / Frank Bailey Field / Women’s lacrosse vs. Trinity College

Saturday, April 3, 1 p.m. / Alexander Field / Softball vs. SUNY Plattsburgh

Friday, April 2- Monday, April 5, 8 and 10 p.m. / Reamer Campus Auditorium / Film series: “Invictus”

Tuesday, April 6, 3 p.m. / Central Park / Baseball vs. Southern Vermont

Wednesday, April 7, 3 p.m. / Memorial Chapel / Chamber Concert Series presents Yefim Bronfman, pianist

Wednesday, April 7, 3:30 p.m. / Alexander Field / Softball vs. Utica College

Thursday, April 8, 5-7 p.m. / Nott Memorial,Mandeville Gallery / Artist’s reception and gallery talk for “Chris Duncan, Recent Work,” annual faculty exhibition  

Friday, April 9 – Monday, April 12, 8 and 10 p.m. / Reamer Campus Center / Film: “Sherlock Holmes”  

Friday, April 9, 3:30 p.m. / Tennis Courts / Men’s tennis vs. Wheaton College

Friday, April 9, 4 p.m. / Frank Bailey Field / Women’s lacrosse vs. Vassar College

Saturday, April 10, 9 a.m. / Boathouse / Men’s and Women’s crew vs. RPI

Saturday, April 10, 1 p.m. / Alexander Field / Softball vs. College of Staten Island

Saturday, April 10, 1 p.m. / Tennis Courts / Women’s tennis vs. SUNY New Paltz

Saturday, April 10, 2 p.m. / Frank Bailey Field / Women’s lacrosse vs. RPI

Saturday, April 10, 7:15 p.m.-8:30 p.m. / Nott Memorial / Alumni and Friends Symposium, “The Smart Grid: Who Should Control Our Energy Future?” keynote speaker Congressman Paul Tonko (open to the public)

Sunday, April 11, 9 a.m. / Boathouse / Men’s and women’s crew vs. University of Albany

Sunday, April 11, 10 a.m. / Tennis courts / Men’s tennis vs. St. Lawrence University

Sunday, April 11, 1 p.m. / Tennis courts / Women’s tennis vs. St. Lawrence University

Monday, April 12, 7 p.m. / Nott Memorial / “Dickens in the Nott: A Reading of ‘A Christmas Carol,’” by students and faculty in conjunction with the closing of the Schaffer Library exhibit, “Dickens in America.” Directed by Patricia Culbert, senior artist-in-residence with the Theater and Dance Department. Tickets free, but limited in number. To reserve, call ext. 6545.

Monday, April 12: Office of Admissions Accepted Student Days

Read More

Students, faculty present at ACS

Posted on Mar 30, 2010

Ten students and six Chemistry Department faculty members attended the 239th national meeting of the American Chemical Society (ACS) in San Francisco recently, joining more than 17,000 other participants. Each student presented a poster on his or her research, and five of the professors gave papers at the conference. Many of these presentations represent collaborative and interdisciplinary work.

Participating students were biochemistry majors Jaclyn Krolick ’10 and Clancy Slack ’11; chemistry majors Valerie Angell ’10, Rachel Gray ’10, Paul Hebert ’10, Adam Kowalski ‘10, Ken Skorenko ‘10, Zachary Smith ‘10 and Megan Weill ’10; and neuroscience major Sangin (Jen) Lee ‘10.  

Gray was selected for a Division of Organic Chemistry Travel Award. Additional travel funding for the students comes from Union’s Internal Education Fund, the Future Professors Program, and the Chemistry Department.

Participating chemistry faculty were Kristin Fox, Michael Hagerman, Joanne Kehlbeck, Susan Kohler, Amanda Misner and Laura MacManus-Spencer.  

Faculty who didn’t attend but co-authored student presentations include James Adrian (Chemistry), Kathleen LoGiudice (Biology) and Palma Catravas (Electrical and Computer Engineering). Rachel Eastman ’10 was also a co-author.

At an awards ceremony on Sunday, March 21, the Union College Chemistry Club received a Commendable Student Affiliates Chapter Award, based on its 2008-2009 activities. This is the 16th consecutive year Union’s club has received an ACS award. The group also gave a presentation in the Successful ACS Student Chapters Poster Session.

To learn more about the ACS National Meeting, visit www.acs.org.

Read More

Congressional Corner

Posted on Mar 30, 2010

Assistant Professor Brad Hays of Political Science was a recent guest on "Congressional Corner" on WAMC, Northeast Public Radio. Northeast Public Radio is a member of National Public Radio serving parts of seven northeastern states. These include New York, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Vermont, New Jersey, New Hampshire and Pennsylvania.

To listen to all four parts, click here.

Read More